Headline News
Go Back

County study groups celebrate achievements

By Carolyn B. Edwards BCC Staff Writer

The annual Bandera County Study Group Achievement Luncheon was held Saturday, Jan. 21 at the Medina United Methodist Church. The event was hosted by the Medina Study Group.

The three study groups in the county have 81 members. They are a part of the outreach services of the family and consumer sciences arm of the AgriLife Extension Service.

Special guests who attended the soup and salad luncheon included County Judge Richard Evans, County Commissioner Richard Keese and Courier staff writer Carolyn B. Edwards.

County Agent Jana Osbourn welcomed all of the guests and presented special thank you gifts to each groups' chairmen. Kay Welch heads the Bluebonnet Study Group in Bandera, Lu Harrison leads the Medina Study Group, and Liz Minne keeps the Williams Creek Study Group in Tarpley busy.

The Bandera group is the oldest study group in the county, having been organized in 1938. Their biggest annual activity is contributing to the Baskets and Bunnies project, a community service which provides Easter baskets for the county's children in need.

The Medina group hosted a quilt festival at the Medina Community Library in 2011 to share the history of quilting and stories of quilters.

The Tarpley group finds lots of projects to work on in their community, including helping the volunteer fire department and hosting the community Christmas party.

All guests received a handmade quilted potholder at registration, and nearly everyone went home with a door prize.

Pictured: Top- Surrounded by examples of her group's quilting skills, Medina Study Group member Helen Hicks welcomed guests with a handmade potholder and a warm welcome.

Extension Agent Jana Osbourn thanked Bluebonnet Study Group leader Kay Welch with a thank you gift.

Jana Osbourn presents a thank you gift to Liz Minne, chairman of the Williams Creek Study Group in Tarpley.

Jana Osbourn presents a thank you gift to Lu Harrison, chairman of the Medina Study Group, which hosted the annual Study Group Achievement Luncheon.