Headline News
Go Back

BEC 2011 youth tour winners announced


Bandera Electric Cooperative will send four area students on an all-expense paid trip to Washington, DC, from June 9 through June 17 as part of the Electric Cooperative Youth Tour.
The 2011 winners are Jason L. Armstrong from Kerrville Tivy High School in Kerrville, Matthew W. Collie from Kendall County's Comfort High School, Anne Duran from Hondo High School and Vanderpool resident Alex Dibbens from Utopia High School with Rachel Beakley from Utopia Utopia High School serving as an alternate. Armstrong, Collie, Duran and Beakley will take the trip to Washington; Dibbens will be unable to attend because of a scheduling conflict.
Since the late 1950s, the Electric Cooperative Youth Tour has brought high school students to Washington, DC. Over 40,000 students from rural areas and small towns across America have participated in this unique program. Bandera Electric sent its first Youth Tour participant in 1972. Since then, 75 area students have received this chance of a lifetime.