Headline News
Go Back

Community Council Receives Disaster Relief Funding


The Community Council of South Central Texas, Inc. (CCSCT) has received two grants to provide disaster relief services to those affected by Hurricane Harvey. The Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA) awarded CCSCT a grant totaling $50,000. The Texas Association of Community Action Agencies (TACAA) awarded CCSCT a grant totaling $33,974. The TACAA grant was made possible by a disaster relief donation from AARP to TACAA for distribution to 12 Community Action Agencies located in the declared Hurricane Harvey disaster area.
With these funds CCSCT can assist low- income residents of Karnes County and low-income Evacuees of any of the 39 counties in the declared disaster area. The Evacuees must be temporarily located in, or permanently relocating, to a location within CCSCT’s 21 County, Community Services Block Grant services area. These counties include Atascosa, Bandera, Comal, Dimmit, Edwards, Frio, Gillespie, Guadalupe, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Kinney, LaSalle, Live Oak, Medina, McMullen, Real, Uvalde, Val Verde, Wilson and Zavala.
To be determined eligible for services clients must provide proof of residents within the 39 County declared disaster area and provide proof of income for the last 30 days. If the client is unable to provide proof of income, due to causes related to the disaster, they can provide a Declaration of Income with a signature. Information on services will be provided upon determination of eligibility.
For more information please contact Melinda Vollmar at 830-303-4376 Ext. 203 or Carol Delgado at 830-767-2019.