Headline News
Go Back

BISD Awards


Bandera ISD Board President Laurie Neff recognizes the Bandera County Kiwanis Club for their support of Bandera ISD at the Board Meeting on April 11. Here Kiwanis President Javier Gonzales, right, accepts the award from Neff. The Builders Club at Bandera Middle School and the Key Club at the High School are two notable school service organizations which are sponsored by the Kiwanis. The Kiwanis have also presented the BUG (Bringing Up Grades) program at the elementary schools for the third graders.

Bandera Electric Cooperative CEO Bill Hetherington, left, and Brian Brockel, right, join BISD Board President Laurie Neff, center, as she honors them with recognition for all the BEC does for Bandera’s public schools. Each year the Co–op holds a school supply drive to provide for Bandera’s most needy youngsters. They have also forged strong relationships with all levels of district administration to provide exemplary service to the community’s schools.

Commander Jim Reynolds, center, of the American Legion Post 410 accepts an award for supporting Bandera ISD students from Board President Laurie Neff. Legion Member John LaTour joins Reynolds in accepting the award for the Lakehill post. Post 410 has provided scholarships for Bandera High School Juniors to attend Boys State and Girls State in Austin.

Senior Pastor Larry McRorey of the Bandera United Methodist Church accepts an award on behalf of the church for its support of Bandera ISD teachers and students. Joining him are BISD Board President Laurie Neff, left, and Director of Student Ministries Bonnie Bevers. The church provides the staging and storage for the Blessings in a Backpack program which supports elementary students who are food insecure and need extra support over the weekend. The church has provided several luncheons for Bandera ISD this year. They have treated new teachers and coaches to a luncheon at their Fellowship Hall and they provided a last day of the year lunch to all BISD employees to show their appreciation in May of 2015.