Headline News
Go Back

Wild Hog's big winners announced

Special to the Courier

Photo by Clare Barnett
By all accounts - except perhaps from the piggies! - this year's 13th annual Wild Hog Explosion was a squealing success.

Surprisingly cooperative weather made for record crowds at the 13th annual Wild Hog Explosion, held Saturday, March 14. The annual event benefits the Bandera County Library.
"Parking went all the way to the highway and the stands were packed all day," reported Library Board President, Jan Grimes, president of the library board of directors. "We are more than thrilled with the support we got from sponsors and participants."
During the Bicycle Rodeo, hosted by the Boys & Girls Clubs of Bandera County, Todd Schumann Jr., 12, of Corpus Christi, won a beautiful BMX bike donated by R&S Dairy Queen.Big winner of the $1,000 Bacon Bingo contest went to Derry Blish of Pipe Creek. Since "widdle" Wild Willie and Wild Waylon never did "do" their thing, the winning number had to be drawn.
Winners in the fast and furious Wild Hog competition included
• Grand Champion Lightweight Division team, Jana Voges and Baily Bass of from New Braunfels with a time of 11.9, and Reserve Champions Ian Short and Wyatt Colner of from Bandera with a time of 13.21. • Middle Weight Grand Champions were Haylee Pearce from Grove and Cade Morgan from Barksdale with a winning time of 9.31seconds and Reserve Champions Lanson Hart and Conner Knupp of Boerne with a time of 13.97.
• Middleweight Female Only Grand Champions were Adianna Torres and Angelica Keringer from Leakey with a time of 18.45, and Reserve Champions were Crissy Errickson form Bandera and Kathryn Scott from San Antonio with a time of 19.72.
• Heavy Weight competition produced Grand Champion winners Craig Lashley of Dallas and Brandon Fusilier from Flower Mound and the Reserve Champions went to Dalton Handsel and Matt Ledesma of Bandera.
Winners of the All Bike Rally Ride and Shine competition are Grand Champion Kelly Sandifer from Bandera and Reserve Champion Marsha Johnson from Clara City, Minnesota. Best Poker hand went to Gaizy Hansen from Rochester, Minnesota, and worst hand went to Jodi Striefe from Minot, North Dakota.
By all accounts, the Lone Star Barbecue Society Cook-off was a huge success and the Grand Champion Team was headed up by Chief Cook Andy Virdell of Pontotoc Poor Boy BBQ, Marble Falls. Reserve Champion Team is Dean Dukes, who serves as chief cook with the Duke Pepper Company of Burnet. People's Choice Grand Champions was won by Chief Cook Bobby Stewart and the Deadwood Hollow Smokers from Camp Verde. Stewart's team raised $1,349.59 for the library made by donations from folks tasting their food!
Friday night winners included "Your Favorite Cocktail," Amy Heep from team Bandera's Bloody Best; "Here Piggy, Piggy" Pork Chop winner, Allen Rhoden and his team Rusty Buckle from New Caney; "Best Medina Apple Dessert," Corey Flores of Texas Poker Smokers of San Antonio.
Winners of Saturday's awards were Best Bloody, Mary Allen Rhoden of Rusty Buckle; Jackpot Pork Butt, Billy Powell of Texas-Select-BBQ of Houston; First place Best Brisket, Ernest Martinez and Blowin' Smoke BBQ of Bandera; and Second Place, Dean Dukes of Duke Pepper; First Place Best Spare Ribs, Albert Brown of Chillin' N Grillin' from Bandera, and Second Place, Kit Polk and Canned Heat from Bandera; First Place Chicken, Dean Dukes and Dukes Pepper; and Second Place, Garrett Simon and Deadwood Hollow Smokers; and First Place Pinto Beans, RL Alexandera and Pit Stop Cookers from Pipe Creek; and Second Place Johnny Gutierrez with Go Johnny Go BBQ team from Uvalde.
Vicki Browning and Robin Brown from Texas Rose Realty organized the cook-off.