Headline News
Go Back

CAD offers tax info for disabled veterans


United States veterans with a service-connected disability are encouraged to file an exemption form to have their 2015 property taxes lowered. Some veterans may even qualify for a 100 percent exemption of their taxes.
Texas law provides partial exemptions for any property owned by veterans who are disabled, spouses and survivors of deceased disabled veterans. This includes homesteads donated to disabled veterans by charitable organizations at no cost to the disabled veterans. The amount of exemption is determined according to the percentage of service-connected disability.
A veteran's percentage of service-connected disability determines the amount of the exemption - from a $5,000 to a $12,000 deduction from the veteran's property value.
Any eligible person who has not received this exemption should apply by April 30 of this year. An applicant may claim the exemption on only one piece of property, such as a home or any other property the applicant owned on Jan. 1, 2014. The applicant must also be a Texas resident to qualify.
A disabled veteran who receives 100 percent disability compensation due to a service-connected disability and a rating of 100 percent disabled or of individual unemployability from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or its successor is entitled to an exemption from taxation of the appraised value of the veteran's residence homestead.
With certain restrictions, surviving spouses are also eligible after the veteran's death. The disabled veteran or surviving spouse can apply for this exemption by filing a residence homestead exemption application with the appraisal district.
The surviving spouse of a member of the US armed services who is killed in action is allowed a total - 100 percent - property tax exemption on his or her residence homestead if the surviving spouse has not remarried since the death of the armed services member.
For more information about the property tax exemption for disabled veterans or to file an exemption, contact the Central Appraisal District of Bandera County Appraisal District, 1206 Main Street, in Bandera, or call 830-796-3039. More information is also available on the Comptroller's Property Tax Assistance Division's website, www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/proptax/.