Headline News
Go Back

Local races end with victory, run-offs

By Judith Pannebaker BCC Editor

Pictured: Jordan 'Jody' Rutherford
John Payne
Mike Towers

Local political junkies will face two more months of politicking due until the May 27 run-off elections for Bandera County Precinct 4. Commissioner and Texas District 53 State Representative.
When the votes were tallied, Jordan 'Jody' Rutherford led John Payne by 25 votes, garnering 44.6 percent of the total to Payne's 41.3 percent. Run-off winner will no doubt take all in November
Additionally, while Bandera County resident Karen Harris accumulated the lion's share of the vote here - 1,179 votes - she was shutout of the district-wide race for a seat in the Legislature. Andrew S. Murr will face Rob Henneke in May.
After receiving 26 percent of the statewide vote for Texas Comptroller, longtime former District 53 State Representative Harvey Hilderbran will go up against Glenn Hegar during the run-off with the winner facing Democrat Mike Collier in the mid-term election.
Closer to home, challenger Mike Towers overwhelmingly bested incumbent Herschel Moore Sr., garnering 486 votes to Moore's 130, for JP Precinct 1. Barring a write-in candidate, he is the presumptive winner of that race.
Incumbent United States District 21 Lamar Smith will return to Congress for two more years. However, his opponent, Boerne resident Matt McCall, received just over 35 percent of the vote.
In November, incumbent US Senator John Cornyn will face the winner of the Democrat run-off election - either David M. Alameel or Kesha Rogers.
As expected, Republican Greg Abbott will square off against Democrat Wendy Davis in the race for Texas governor.
In another race with a modicum of local interest, the office of Texas Commissioner of Agriculture comes down to Richard "Kinky" Friedman and Jim Hogan on the Democrat side and Republicans Sid Miller and Tommy Merritt. Run-off winners will face each other in the fall.
Also, all unopposed local candidates won - big time!
For other election results, refer to page 7A of the Courier. For the whole enchilada of winners of both political persuasions, drop by the Courier office at 1136 Main Street.