Headline News
Go Back

AAUW seeks applicants for $2,500 scholarship


Applications are now being accepted by the Kerrville Branch of AAUW (American Association of University Women) for its annual Graduate Studies Scholarship awarded to women who have been accepted into or are presently enrolled at the graduate level in an accredited college or university. According to AAUW chair Linda Christian, the scholarship is open to residents in Bandera, Gillespie, Kendall, Kerr or Kimble counties. Deadline for the applications is Feb. 15, 2014.
The recipient will be selected from finalists after an interview by the local AAUW branch scholarship committee comprised of Christian, Jeanie Webb, Betty Henderson, and Lisa Cook.
Last year's recipient, Lisa Cook, is a Speech Pathologist with the Kerrville schools. She joins a group of outstanding women who have been supported in their graduate work by the Kerrville Branch AAUW scholarships.
Among them are Kerrville Family Nurse Practitioner Anne Shackleford, Ingram Tom Moore High School Principal Sara McCrae, Ingram ISD Educational Technologist Heidi Hilmer, Fredericksburg ISD teacher and Schreiner University graduate Patricia Rivera, Texas A&M graduate in Rangeland Ecology Kelly Haile from Sisterdale, and Peggy Simmons, Fredericksburg High School English teacher, who earned a Master's degree in Educational Leadership from Texas Tech University.
The scholarship's aim is to assist local women to obtain advanced education and give back to their communities. Although many applicants are career women in the field of education, AAUW encourages competitive applications from women in many fields, including social services, health care, natural science, business and law.
The annual local scholarship is provided by the more than 100 members of the Kerrville Branch AAUW. Applications are available at the Branch website www.aauwkerrville.org or contact
Linda Christian at 830-928-9363 or lgcdoover@hotmail.com.