Headline News
Go Back

Start your engines, political season begins

By Judith Pannebaker BCC Editor

Filing period for candidates running for political offices in the 2014 midterm election, set for November 2014, ended at 5 pm, Monday, Dec. 9.
Prior to the general election, however, several local candidates will face opponents in the Republican Primary Election, scheduled for Tuesday, March 4. No Democrats have filed for the countywide elections.
The decision of Precinct 4 Commissioner Doug King not to seek a fourth term left the field wide open in that precinct. Candidates include Pat D'Spain, John Payne and Jody Rutherford.
The race for Precinct 1 Justice of the Peace includes challengers Dennis Fitzgerald and Mike Towers and incumbent Herschel Moore Sr.
If necessary, a run-off election will take place on May 27.
Bandera County incumbents who are running unopposed in the next election cycle are County Judge Richard Evans, District Clerk Tammy Kneuper, County Clerk Candy Wheeler, Treasurer Billie Reeves, Precinct 2 Commissioner Bobby Harris, Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace Bobbie Basinger, Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace Eino Zapata and Precinct 4 Justice of the Peace Lynn Holt.
Republican Ed Hodges and Democrat Fred Mabry will also run unopposed as county chairmen of their respective parties.
Additionally, candidates vying for District 53 Texas House of Representatives, the longtime seat of Harvey Hilderbran, who is running for State Comptroller, include Bandera County resident Karen Harris, Kerr County Attorney Rob Henneke and Kimble County Judge Andrew Stevenson Murr.