Headline News
Go Back

Seniors win local scholarships


Over $265,000 in local scholarship money was awarded to Bandera High School seniors on Tuesday, June 4 during the annual Scholarship Night Program.

Counselor Leslie Cronin announced the top 10 college choices for the class of 2013. Northwest Vista led the list with out-of-state colleges coming in second, Blinn College coming in third, Schreiner University coming in fourth, Texas A&M University coming in fifth and UT San Antonio coming in sixth. Rounding out the list was San Antonio College, St. Phillip's College, Texas State University, Texas Tech University and Angelo State University.

The most popular college major for the class of 2013 was nursing, followed by business and engineering. Thirty-four percent of the class of 2013 have indicated an intent to attend a four year college or university, 33 percent of the class will be attending a two-year junior college, 2.5 percent of the class will be entering a technical school, 4.5 percent indicated that they would be joining a branch of the military and 26 percent of the class indicated that they would be entering the world of work. Nearly 70 percent of the BHS Class of 2013 will be continuing their education on a post secondary level.

The Army Scholar Athlete Award went to Madelynn Kinsel and Aaron Shackelford. The Marines' Distinguished Athletic Award was given to Ellen Hevenor and Michael Miller. The Marines' Scholastic Excellence Award was presented to Briana Mayhew and Hunter Prince. The Semper Fidelis Music Award was given to Analisa Gonzalez and Sebastian Escobar. The BHS Will to Win Award was presented to Kati Fitzpatrick.

The Cailloux Foundation awarded three $56,000 scholarships to Ellen Hevenor, Kelsie Karnes and Chrysta Smith. A Dan and Ellen Juren Scholarship for $3000 went to Hunter Prince. Bandera Electric Coop presented a $1000 scholarship to Sara Herrera.

The Richard E. Gnade Trust Fund awarded Aaron Shackelford and Mitchell Keese each with scholarships for $11, 200. Travis Dunlap and Matthew Halloran received Gnade scholarships for $4000 each. A $4000 Joe E. Langford Scholarship was awarded to Ellen Hevenor. Two $3000 Joe E. Langford Scholarships were given to Emily Frost and Sara Herrera. Two $1000 Joe E. Langford Scholarships were presented to Brittney Palacios and Bailee Hauck.

Scholarships of $3500 went to Emily Frost, Sara Herrera and Ellen Hevenor from the Doane Memorial Foundation. Rodger B. King Memorial Scholarships of $2000 went to Emily Campbell and Brittney Palacios. Kimberly Dickey also received a $1000 Doane Foundation Scholarship.

Lowe's Grocery Student Scholarships of $500 went to Emily Sullivan and Dacia Mallia. The Stephanie Lacey Community Service Scholarship presented by the Bandera Boys and Girls Club for $400 went to Emily Campbell.

A Bandera 4-H Clover Booster Scholarship of $1750 went to Justin Klinksiek and a Clover Booster Scholarship of $1250 went to Corey Flach. The Thomas H. "Bub" Keese Memorial Scholarship of $1000 went to Justin Klinksiek and Ellen Hevenor. Werner Lindig Scholarships of $500 each went to Ellen Hevenor and Corey Flach. Local banks awarded Banking On Our Future Scholarships in October 2012 to Jordan Junker for $500, Mitchell Keese for $250, Renessa Sanders for $250, Kyler Power for $250, Deborah Jennings for $250 and Kelsie Karnes for $250.

The Optimist Club of Bandera presented two $1000 scholarships, the John G. Slocumb Awards, to their Students of the Year, Justin Klinksiek and Kati Fitzpatrick. Optimist Young Texan/Texanne Scholarships of $400 went to Sara Herrera, Ellen Hevenor, Kelsie Karnes and Madelynn Kinsel.

An Order of the Eastern Star Scholarship for $1000 each went to Sara Herrera, Michaela Porterfield and April Rodriguez. The Bandera Masonic Lodge Scholarship for $1000 was presented to Hunter Prince. Prince and Ellen Hevenor also received Mirabeau B. Lamar Awards presented by Lodge leadership. Kimberly Dickey received a Nell Smith Drenner Scholarship for $500.

The Kiwanis Club of Bandera gave three $500 scholarships to Emily Campbell, Kimberly Dickey and Brittney Palacios. They also awarded a $1000 scholarship to Emily Frost. Jordan Hayes was presented a scholarship check from the Woodmen of the World for $500. The American Legion Auxiliary from Post 410 in Lakehills presented April Rodriguez and Kimberly Dickey with $500 scholar-ships.

St. Stanislaus Catholic Church presented eight $650 scholarships to OK Correll, Matthew Halloran, Sierra Rodriguez, Emily Frost, Brittney Palacios, Leslie Groomer, Jackson Love and Lauren Ramsay. The Randy Hicks Memorial Scholarship for $1000 went to Matthew Halloran. The Knights of Columbus awarded seven $750 scholarships to OK Correll, Matthew Halloran, Sierra Rodriguez, Emily Frost, Brittney Palacios, Leslie Groomer and Lauren Ramsay. The Shepherds' Gate Com-munity Church gave a $500 scholarship to Jayson Zamora.

The local chapter of the Association of Texas Professional Educators presented two Patsy Small/Mark Warren Memorial Scholarships of $525 to McKenna Mangold and Jordan Hayes. The $500 Katy Kidd Scholarship presented by education honorary society, Delta Kappa Gamma, went to April Rodriguez. The Bandera County Retired Teachers Association awarded a $1000 scholarship to April Rodriguez.

A Medina Lake Betterment Association Scholarship of $1000 was presented to Justin Klinksiek. The John"Hawg" Johnson Jr. Scholarships presented by the Gypsy Motorcycle Club of Bandera for $750 went to Leslie Groomer and Sara Herrera.

April Rodriguez was awarded the Bandera Music Hall of Fame Scholarship for $1000. The Bandera County Artists Scholarship of $1000 went to Emily Frost.

The Tracy Rudloff Memorial Scholarship for $200 was presented to Colton Kunz. The Tiffany S. Durand Memorial Scholarship for $1000 went to April Rodriguez. The WR D'Spain Memorial Scholarship for $500 was awarded to Aaron Shackelford. The Hochheim Prairie Bulldog Award of $1000 went to April Rodriguez.

Seniors received their honor cords to wear with their graduation robes.

Valedictorian Sara Herrera and Salutatorian Madelynn Kinsel were both presented with certificates and medals for placing first and second in the class ranking.