Headline News
Go Back

Music boosters honor BHS music artists at banquet

Special to the Courier

Bandera High School's Music Boosters sponsored a banquet for the high school performing arts students on Tuesday, May 7, at the Bandera High School Cafeteria. The BHS Culinary Arts department catered the event and the booster moms provided door prizes for parents and students. Department Chair Catherine Holmes started the event by saying "We've had a fantastic year for all our fine arts, everybody worked really hard and we are really proud of our students."

Choir directors, Holmes and Marc Laine, presented awards to their stu-dents. Holmes recognized the All Region Choir and All Region Treble Choir winners to the audience. The Choir Heart Awards, voted on by the choir students, went to Lucas Duarte, April Rodriguez and Kasandra Villarreal. The Choir Leadership Awards, awarded to one student in each choir, went to Richard Espinosa, Kasandra Villarreal, Marissa Godbey and April Rodriguez. The Most Outstanding Student In Class Award went to Nate Merrill and Kasandra Villarreal. The Most Improved in Choir Awards went to Gabriel Hernandez, Marjorie Herndon, Madeline Johanson and Cheyanne Van Vleet.

The Most Creative Awards went to Gabriel Stiner-Acklin, Madeleine Held, Miranda Montemayor, and Cheyanne Burns. This year a new award was presented to "Fantastic Freshmen." These were Lucas Duarte, Brianna Rodriguez, Patricia McCourt and Samantha Browning.

The Choir Certificate of Excellence was presented to Aspen Fullerton, Emily Witner-Axtell, Gabrial Plantz, Kristen Tschirhart, Brianna Rodriguez, Katherine Cluff, Victoria Palmer, Javier Rodriguez, Austin Raby, Alyssa Netherton, Deven Barnes, Anna Sanchez, Rachel Lynch, Jordan Tompkins, Celeste Lee and Briana Rodriguez.

Holmes recognized the students who will advance to state competition on May 27 and who also won medals at regionals. These included soloists Ashley Collett, Samantha Browning, Kasandra Villarreal, Elizabeth Collett, Caitlin Lenihan, Zadie Baker, April Rodriguez, Cheyanne Van Vleet, Destry Tosh, Emily Sullivan, Cassidy Busby, Marissa Godbey and Cory Tschirhart. Recognized for their ensemble advancing to state were: Ashley Collett, Elizabeth Collett, Marissa Godbey, Cory Tschirhart and Destry Tosh. To finish out the awards for choir, April Rodriguez was named BHS' recipient of the Senior National School Choral Award.

Head Band Director Tim Howell opened the second part of the evening's program by awarding the Outstanding Band Leadership Award to Javier Rodriguez, Analisa Gonzalez and Kyle Redwine.

The Most Improved Marcher Award went to Stephanie Martinez, and the Most Outstanding Marcher Award went to Javier Rodriguez. The award for Most Improved Color Guard went to Cassidy Busby. The Best Overall Color Guard Award went to Caitlin Lenihan. April Rodriguez, Dylan Rodrigues, and Sterling Gardner won the award for Most Improved Players.

The Band Heart Awards went to Javier Rodriguez and Dana Zavorka. The Pride of the Bulldogs Award went to Jackson Love.

Directors Tim Howell, Matt Poole, Marc Laine and Toni Batto presented the Directors' Awards to Hailee Lothamer, Rachel Chandler and Emily Sullivan.

Bryce McKendrick was named Outstanding Freshman. Javier Rodriguez and Shay McMullan were named Outstanding Sophomores. Kyle Redwine was named Outstanding Junior. Outstanding Seniors were Rachel Chandler, OK Correll, Kim Dickey, Sebby Escobar, Erin Fluckiger, Analisa Gonzalez, Ian Goza, Van Heye, Kira Irwin, Hailee Lothamer, Jackson Love, Chase Maas, David Moreno, Brandon Pina, JC Short, April Rodriguez, Emily Sullivan, Cody Tuma and Kristen Vines.

Head Band Director Tim Howell presented the awards to the Jazz Band. Kyle Redwine won the award for Most Improved Jazz Band member. The Most Outstanding Jazz Band member went to Ben Guajardo. The Louis Armstrong Award was presented to JC Short.

Howell also recognized the students advancing to state competition for their saxophone ensemble. These students were Bryce McKendrick, Javier Rodriguez, Ashley Collett and Greer Schantz. They also received the Patrick Gilmore Award.

The final award, the John Phillip Sousa Award, was presented to JC Short.

Star Stepper Director Jamie George presented the award for Best Overall Dancer to Alyssa Netherton. Best Dance Technique went to Courtney Backer. Most Improved Dancer went to Abigail Jones and the Best Team Player award went to Chrysta Smith.

BHS Principal Gary Bitzkie ended the evening thanking the students, directors and parents, by saying, "I cannot believe what the fine arts department has achieved this year, it is absolutely phenomenal. Students soak it in and enjoy it, cause you have had a great year."