Farm & Ranch News
Go Back

The Bandera FFA Chapter holds annual banquet

By Trey Schwarz Special to the Courier

Pictured: Michael Derry congratulates Colton Klinksiek, recipient of the Star Lamb Production award. Courtney Flach is in the background.

Photo courtesy BISD
Bob Wheeler, center, presented Cheyanne Van Vleet and Scott Mangold with the Wheeler Agriculture Scholarship and the Bandera FFA banquet.

The Bandera Chapter of the FFA held their 2014 Awards Banquet on Thursday, April 24, at the high school cafeteria. The FFA Booster Club made a generous donation of $500 to support the cost of the meal that was served to members as well as their friends and families.
The banquet began with the flag and opening ceremonies, with the welcome by John Derry, president, an invocation led by Trey Schwarz, sentinel. After the meal, awards were distributed to FFA students.
Twenty Discovery Degrees were awarded with the top Star Award going to Cade Osbourn. Discovery Degrees are awarded to FFA students in the eighth grade. Greenhand Degrees are awarded to those students who complete a Supervised Agriculture Experience and this year there were 31 degrees awarded. Trey Schwarz received the Star Greenhand award. At the Chapter Level, there were 26 degrees awarded to students who participated in over 180 hours of agriculture hours. Katelyn Cornwell received the Star Chapter Farmer Award.
Other individual honors were also awarded:
Wheeler Agriculture Scholarship - Cheyanne Van Vleet
Agriculture Mechanics - JD Montague
Beef Production - Austin Wilson
Poultry Production - Kyle Wilson
Rabbit Production - Chandler Martin
Swine Production - Justin Galley
Sheep Production - Colton Klinksiek
Goat Production - Courtney Flach
Range Judger - Kodie Ryan
Livestock Judger - Scott Mangold
Honorary Chapter Degree - Mr. Joseph Burke
Retiring addresses were given by senior students Erin Campbell and Cheyanne Van Vleet.
The banquet ended with the installation of the new officers for the 2014-2015 school year: President John Derry, Vice President Kyle Wilson, Secretary Katelyn Cornwell, Treasurer Cade Osbourn, Reporter Trey Schwarz, Sentinel Julia Crawford, and Junior Advisor Austin Wilson.
Cornwell also received honors by being elected Sentinel in the Revaldina District. Cornwell was installed at the District Banquet held in Sabinal on April 30.