Community News
Go Back

Texas music hall of fame inducts Hudson


Dr. Kathleen Ann Hudson, Schreiner University professor of English and director of the Texas Heritage Music Foundation, was inducted into to the Texas Songwriters Music Legends Hall of Fame on Thursday, Jan. 14, in Austin.
The Texas Songwriters Association and Austin Songwriters Group created the hall of fame this year to honor persons who have helped to create the Texas music landscape. The inductees include not only songwriters and musicians, but also individuals and groups that created and nurtured the music community.
Joining Hudson in the inaugural group of inductees are Roger Allen, Patterson Barrett, Bill Browder, Stephen Doster, the late Steven Fromholz, Ernie Gammage, Craig Hillis, Bob Livingston, Rich Minus, David Moerbe, Scott Newton, Gary P. Nunn, Shake Russell and Mike Tolleson.
Hudson founded the Texas Heritage Music Foundation in 1987 to preserve and perpetuate the traditions of Texas music, honoring the importance of both stories and songs. Its activities include Texas Heritage Music Day on the Schreiner campus every September, monthly Coffeehouse concerts on campus during the fall and spring semesters, and the Wayne Kennemer Scholarship Fund for Schreiner students.
She is currently working on a book about Texas music's Hispanic heritage.