Community News
Go Back

Bandera ISD honors state & national qualifiers

Special to the Courier

Pictured: Photo courtesy BISD
State qualifying BPA (Business Professionals of America) participants Brendan Keane, Allie Denham, Mercy Yermo, Alex Joyer, Macie Malone, and Brady Keane were recognized at the meeting of the BISD Board of Trustees on Monday, May 12. Brendan Keane and Allie Denham will travel to national competition in Indianapolis later this month. State BPA qualifiers not pictured were Tyler Hutzler, Jonathan Skipper and Luke Degoes.

Photo courtesy BISD
The FFA Horse Judging team of Sarah Butler, Chandler Kate Martin, Cheyanne Jenkins and Julia Crawford were recognized by the BISD school board for competing at the state level.

On Monday, May 12, the Bandera ISD board of trustees honored Bandera High School students who qualified for school sponsored state and national competitions during the 2013-14 school year. Over 80 students and 19 sponsors were recognized for their participation in these top level competitions.
UIL Academics
Honored for qualifying for state UIL academic competition were Ashley Collett, Scott Pofahl, Michaela Turner, Destry Tosh, Maddie Wood and Austen Hornung.
Business professionals
Students honored from BPA (Business Professionals of America) were Allie Denham and Brendan Keane (national qualifiers); Mercy Yermo, Macie Malone, Alex Joyer, Brady Keane, Allie Denham, Tyler Hutzler, Jonathan Skipper, Luke Degoes and Brendan Keane (state).
BHS students who qualified for state competition in band solo and ensemble were Greer Schantz, Conner Short, Javier Rodriguez, Bryana Yeates, James Hulsey, Skyler Brown, Kodie Ryan, Kyle Redwine and Austin Raby.
Recognized for qualifying for state choir solo and ensemble competition were Emily Witmer-Axtell, Destry Tosh, Cory Tschirhart, Alyssia Lynn-Rowe, Marissa Godbey, Audrey Inman, Austin Raby, Elizabeth Collett, Miranda Montemayor, Kasandra Villareal, Samantha Browning, Caitlyn Lenihan, Meagan Gardner and Lucas Duarte.
UIL Athletics
Athletes recognized for achieving Academic All State were Kelly Nelson (volleyball) and Jonathan Raitz (basketball). Students who qualified for state honors in athletics were: Landon Ventura (football); Sara Butler, Taelen Butler, Caitlyn Lenihan, Karla Presa, Kaitlyn Rodriguez, Jewell Weed, Mercy Yermo, Kate Martin, Monica Mata, and Emily Montague (girls cross country); Seva Nix (boys cross country); Corey Jennings and Noah Nelson (boys track); Bryce Dowda (boys powerlifting); and Vanessa Muniz, Calie Chesler, Sarah Butler and Taylor Schultz (girls powerlifting).
In FCCLA (Family Career and Community Leaders of America) students honored for competing at state level competition were Erin Campbell, Ana Romero, Danise Leal, Paige Fisher, Kaiynat Masood and Britney Platt.
Three teams of students from FFA competed at state: the horse judging team composed of Sarah Butler, Julia Crawford, Cheyanne Jenkins, and Chandler Kate Martin; the livestock judging team composed of Courtney Flach, Colton Klinksiek, Scott Mangold and Justin Galley; and the marketing team of Sara Butler, John Derry and Samuel Gostomski.
Science & engineering
Samuel Gostomski and John Derry were recognized for participating in the Exxon Mobil State Science and Engineering Fair where they were both named Borlaug Scholars. Samuel Gostomski was selected to attend the World Food Prize Foundation Global Youth Institute in Iowa, in October.
Visual arts
VASE (Visual Arts Scholastic Event) students recognized at the state level of competition were Daylen Howe, Evan Hayes and Lauren Williams.
Sponsors recognized were Dianna Heiner, Bob Shearhart, David T. Sine, Steve Golemon, Clifton Tierney, Matt McCarty, Jack Irvin, Emily Houghton, Tim Howell, Celeste Rogers, Catherine Holmes, Brenda Huvar, Chantry VanderZee, Tessa Gamble, Michael Derry, Fulton Pizzini, Jenny Brown and Heather Miesse.