Community News
Go Back

Music Hall of Fame winners announced

By Mary Allyce Special to the Courier

The Bandera Music History Project Hall of Fame's voting polls closed on Sunday, Sept. 8, and, when all the votes were counted, familiar names emerged alongside brand new ones as the Class of 2013.
Taking home the Living Legend Hall of Fame honor is Walter "Tooter" Ripps, bass player extraordinaire. Ripps, who selected as the BMHoF 2010 Musician, currently plays with the Drug Store Cowboys and holds down the bass man position at the Silver Sage Opry.
The other Hall of Fame honor goes to the late Lore Orion, who was awarded a Lifetime Achievement tribute by the BMHoF committee, as well as the voters' choice in the Songwriter category.
Mark Wright, drummer for Arkey Blue's Blue Cowboys band, won the Musician category and is the first percussionist to take home a BMHoF award.
Another Blue Cowboy, Gary Lewis, smooth frontman and bass player for the band, is the 2013 Vocalist winner.
The versatile Loyd Bonham Band will take home the Duo-Group awards for 2013 and round out the full slate of honors and awards.
This is the first year in which Living Legend and Lifetime Achievement - conferred in alternate years by the BMHoF committee - are full Hall of Fame honors with the other categories designated as annual awards. Your favorite musicians can win as many times as you vote for them.
The award ceremonies will take place Sunday, Oct. 27, on the patio behind the Bandera County Public Library, the parent organization of the BMHoF. Full profiles of winners and more on what promises to be a great show on Oct. 27 will be published in future editions of the Courier. For more information, visit and follow BMHoF on facebook.